Elected Officers

About Us

Elected Officers

Tricia Hill, Hon Chairman & President

Tricia Hill is a Georgia Tech graduate with a Bachelors of Mechanical Engineering degree. Tricia has been in the offshore oil and gas industry for almost 25 years with substantial experience in flexible pipe design, analysis, testing, manufacturing, and commercial operations.

Don Schlater, Hon Treasurer

Don has held both Technical and Sales management rolls with the Castrol group of BP since late 1997. Prior to that he was the Director of Projects for FSSL (now Aker Solution). From 1986 to 1993 he started, developed and was General Manager for MacDermid Offshore Solutions business (formerly Marston Bentley). Prior to this he was product manager for Drilling Controls and Motion Compensation systems for Shaffer now National Oilwell Varco. He began his oilfield career with Exxon Production research after his USAF stay. He was an Air Force project manager at the Air Force Weapons lab working in the area of Nuclear weapons effect research. He did both undergraduate and graduate work in Mechanical engineering at Tulane University.

Honorary Secretary - Xiaoyan Long, Ph.D, P.E., D.GE.

Dr. Xiaoyan Long is the Principal Engineer for Fugro USA Marine, Inc. She has over 15 years of consultancy and management experience in offshore geotechnical engineering field. She is a registered professional engineer in Texas and Ohio and a certified diplomate of Geotechnical Engineering (D.GE). She obtained her Master degree from Tongji University in China in 2000, and her Doctor of Philosophy from Texas A&M university in 2006. Xiaoyan specializes in marine site characterization, offshore foundation engineering, well geotechnics, interdisciplinary geo-hazard assessment including slope stability, mudslide and gas hydrate studies and soil-structure interaction. She has authored/coauthored more than 25 technical publications in geotechnical engineering field and is serving on the SUT Executive committee and the OSIG technical committee.

Zenon Medina-Cetina, Past Hon Chairman 2015-2021

Dr. Medina-Cetina is Associate Professor in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering,Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering (Joint Appointment), and Department of Ocean Engineering (Joint Appointment) at Texas A&M University, where he leads the Stochastic Geomechanics Laboratory @SGLtamu (2008 - Present).

Christopher Curran, Past Hon Chairman 2000 - 2015

Christopher is the Team Leader for Subsea Controls and HIPPS in BP s Deepwater Facilities Flagship, developing new technology for deep water applications. He is also the Chairman of several API committees for subsea controls (17F), HIPPS (17O) and subsea safety systems (17V). He has over 30 years experience of subsea systems, concentrating primarily on subsea production control systems. Experience includes shallow water and deep water systems for around the world including North Sea, Asia, Australia, West Africa and Gulf of Mexico. Christopher has a degree in Physics from Bristol University and is the founding Chairman of the Society for Underwater Technology's Houston Branch. He is a Fellow of the SUT and a Chartered engineer.

Cheryl Burgess, SUT CEO

Cheryl joined SUT in January 2021, bringing over three decades experience in the energy industry including oil & gas (both offshore and onshore); renewables; and utilities.

Steve Hall, Former SUT CEO

Steve Hall joined SUT as Chief Executive in April 2017 bringing over 25 years experience in the field of global marine science, technology and policy including serving as vice-chair of UNESCO's Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, heading the UK National Oceanography Centre's International & Strategic Partnerships Office and a variety of other roles. Steve has been a long-serving Member & Fellow of SUT, chairing the education & training committee and serving on Council.
Become a SUT Member
Membership available for students, individuals and corporations

UT3 Issue 6 2022

UT3 is the online magazine of the Society for Underwater Technology. It is a new single authoritative source on subsea engineering for those that do not have time to look at the various subsea news sites.

SUT Houston on Facebook SUT Houston on Twitter SUT Houston on Linkedin